Verified
Red Energy
partners with Ajust

Red Energy
Complaints

The best way to resolve complaints with
Red Energy

Red Energy is a big energy retailer, supplying electricity and gas in south-eastern Australia. Red Energy is the 4th largest supplier of residential electricity in NSW, after the big 3 energy retailers. So it’s not surprising that Red Energy also had the most complaints reported in 2021-22 outside the big 3 companies. Only a relatively small number of complaints to Red Energy progressed to the ombudsman.

Get heard by
Red Energy

Live
Join our campaign

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Red Energy

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Red Energy

Ajust is putting pressuring on
Red Energy
to listen to its customers and give them fair outcomes.
It only takes 2 minutes to get started
Quick Solutions
Add Your Voice
Resolve Now
Powered by Ajust

COMPLAINTS SENT THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Billing overcharge

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Michael
Billing overcharge

Michael

June 10, 2024

Financial burden, frustration

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Overcharged

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Stephen
Overcharged

Stephen

May 11, 2024

Total fabrication of reason

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Cost-effective plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melinda
Cost-effective plan

Melinda

May 1, 2024

Financial strain due to rising costs

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Cost-effective electricity plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Edward
Cost-effective electricity plan

Edward

April 30, 2024

Financial concern about escalating costs

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Wrong information provided

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Susan
Wrong information provided

Susan

April 12, 2024

Stress

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Power outage notification

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Meggy
Power outage notification

Meggy

February 14, 2024

Customer not notified

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ruth

Ruth

February 2, 2024

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Believe bill was never delivered.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Linda and Richard
Believe bill was never delivered.

Linda and Richard

February 1, 2024

Struggling for a week with water cut off. Stress from large cost of replacing system. I am ill and suffering leg injury and depression, amongst other things.

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Believe bill was never delivered.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Linda and Richard
Believe bill was never delivered.

Linda and Richard

February 1, 2024

Struggling for a week with water cut off. Stress from large cost of replacing system. I am ill and suffering leg injury and depression, amongst other things.

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Missing rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jane
Missing rebate

Jane

January 11, 2024

Increased bill

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Consumers who are asking

Red Energy

To Listen

Live Campaign
Do you manage complaints for
Red Energy
?
Energy

Billing overcharge

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Michael

Michael

June 10, 2024

Customer seeks $3000 refund from red energy due to billing error causing financial burden and dissatisfaction with promised savings.
Dear Ajust, When I switched from AGL to RED Energy in October 2023, I was enticed by the promise of competitive rates and the appeal of supporting an all-Australian company. As a low-power consumer with AGL, I was already diligent in trimming costs at home, and I believed that RED Energy would further assist me in this endeavour. In six months, I learned that my total owing was approximately $3000. In April/May, I entered into a payment arrangement with RED Energy for $221 per fortnight and returned to a far more affordable AGL plan. I know now that I should not have left AGL. I am very much dissatisfied with RED Energy's billing practices. A significant estimation error was made and billed, leading to the current situation. I live alone, I am constantly mindful of my appliance use and strive to minimise all expenses. The bills I have received from RED Energy need to align with my usage, and their phone explanations have only added to my frustration. Given the significant impact on my finances, I am requesting a thorough and genuine revision of how RED Energy arrived at the charges it did. The sum 'owing' ideally should be forfeited, considering the circumstances and the potential error in the billing. This firm appears morally bankrupt for what it charges. The promise of saving money with RED Energy has turned into a personal financial nightmare. Instead of saving, I am now burdened with a staggering debt of nearly $3000. This situation is not just a financial inconvenience; it is a significant burden on my financial stability, and I seek a fair and reasonable resolution. I'm simply continuing to pay the instalments each payday; however, I have been encouraged to contact you by taking advice from a learned friend. Kind Regards, Michael Jones
Energy

Overcharged

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Stephen

Stephen

May 11, 2024

Customer complains of overcharged gas bill due to inaccurate meter reading by red energy. requesting re-measurement and apology.
Red Energy Overcharged Gas Bill Bill Estimate - dog on premises. this is not true as the meter is outside the fence of rear yard and there are no dogs or animals in rear yard so total fabrication for Red Energy reason. Please come and re measure meter
Energy

Cost-effective plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melinda

Melinda

May 1, 2024

Customer seeks review of account with red energy for more cost-effective plan after being with them for over a year.
With the cost of living on the rise, I'm looking to ensure that I'm on the most cost-effective plan for my home energy service. Having been with Red Energy for 1+ year, I am requesting a review of my account to determine if there is a more affordable option that suits my needs.
Energy

Cost-effective electricity plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Edward

Edward

April 30, 2024

Customer seeks red energy's assistance in evaluating current electricity plan for cost-effectiveness and exploring more affordable options.
I'm worried that my current home electricity plan might not be the most cost-effective option available. Given the escalating cost of living, I'm keen to ensure I have the most suitable plan for my requirements. Could Red Energy please evaluate my account and inform me if there is a more affordable plan that would suit my needs?
Energy

Wrong information provided

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Susan

Susan

April 12, 2024

Customer seeks compensation for stress and high electricity bill, wants apology for incorrect information causing stress.
On Monday 8/4/24, when I phoned Red Energy, to ask about how to reduce charging for my electric hot water system, a customer service officer gave me wrong information: (1) That I had no Smart Meter, so (2) That I should not have turned on the inverter to my new solar system (installed on 24/3/24) until the Smart Meter was installed; (3) That my solar energy company Arkana had not supplied a required 'Compliance Certificate of electrical works done'; (4) That an electrician would need to get up on roof to change wiring in HWS to change from my current Controlled Loading 2 plan to a regular power plan. I phoned Arkana, who assured me they had installed a Smart Meter on 24/3/24, with photos proving this; and had lodged a Compliance Cert Number MRA0058964. I spent a very stressful day trying to resolve this opposing information, and trying to get an electrician. When he came on 26/4/24, he assured me that I DID have a Smart Meter; and that to install a Timer for the hot water system, he did not have to get up o the roof. Red Energy rang me on 26/4/24 to tell me that I did have a Smart Meter; they did not apologise for giving me wrong information causing me such stress. Red Energy also told me my last very high electricity bill ($556), which was almost double the bill for same time last year, was because rates had gone up on 1/7/23, and that they had sent me a letter informing me of this. I did not receive a letter. Red Energy said their supply rates had gone up and down a few times since, even though my plan had not changed. I received no letters re this either. This has caused me, at 75 yrs old, a lot of stress.
Energy

Power outage notification

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Meggy

Meggy

February 14, 2024

Complaint about lack of communication regarding power outage and restoration time compared to other customers.
I am a customer of Red Energy. Query why wasn’t I notified of the recent power outage and restoration time when all United Energy customers were notified? Meggy Tan
Energy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ruth

Ruth

February 2, 2024

Long wait time and terrible music while on hold
Waited 30mins to talk to someone. All I got was terrible music. Not good enough.
Energy

Believe bill was never delivered.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Linda and Richard

Linda and Richard

February 1, 2024

Customer requests re-issuing of last bill with discount due to non-receipt and postal issues.
My husband just received an email saying our last bill was overdue. I am surprised it was not sent to me as I pay the bills and receipts come to my email address which is linda@walding.com I have searched for this paper bill and it does not seem to be here. I am always very careful in paying on time as we can't afford to miss out on the reduced rate for failing to do so. I can only think that we did not receive the bill. Our postal system is hopeless. I sent for my usual charity calendar. IT was addressed correctly and I waited and waited. I finally had a call from the charity saying it had come back and they were checking my address number. It was correctly addressed at 69 Summit St, Sheldon but delivered to 64. Instead of the person at 64 who has known us for 42 years just sticking it in our letter box, they must have taken it to the Post Office. The charity put it in a new envelope and correctly addressed it AGAIN. Waited weeks. Still no show. They offered me a refund of $25. I declined, saying it can be a donation. I went to the Post Office where they had no solution. No apology. The manager said she often has to re-deliver letters to neighbours because of this woeful service. Meanwhile we have had a water leak underground and been struggling with no water supply for a week. It has cost thousands to replace the whole system. I know these events have nothing to do with you but I am appealing on compassionate grounds for you to email me the missing bill (allowing the discount) which I will pay immediately. I am a loyal customer for three houses and I don't think this has ever happened before. I have promoted you to friends and refused cheaper offers from other companies because I want to deal with Australian companies like yours. Hoping you can see fit to help us out here. We are in our seventies so we can'y afford to lose any bonuses. Kind regards, Linda (and Richard) Walding 69 Summit Street Sheldon Qld 4157
Energy

Believe bill was never delivered.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Linda and Richard

Linda and Richard

February 1, 2024

Customer requests re-issuing of last bill with discount due to non-receipt and postal issues.
My husband just received an email saying our last bill was overdue. I am surprised it was not sent to me as I pay the bills and receipts come to my email address which is linda@walding.com I have searched for this paper bill and it does not seem to be here. I am always very careful in paying on time as we can't afford to miss out on the reduced rate for failing to do so. I can only think that we did not receive the bill. Our postal system is hopeless. I sent for my usual charity calendar. IT was addressed correctly and I waited and waited. I finally had a call from the charity saying it had come back and they were checking my address number. It was correctly addressed at 69 Summit St, Sheldon but delivered to 64. Instead of the person at 64 who has known us for 42 years just sticking it in our letter box, they must have taken it to the Post Office. The charity put it in a new envelope and correctly addressed it AGAIN. Waited weeks. Still no show. They offered me a refund of $25. I declined, saying it can be a donation. I went to the Post Office where they had no solution. No apology. The manager said she often has to re-deliver letters to neighbours because of this woeful service. Meanwhile we have had a water leak underground and been struggling with no water supply for a week. It has cost thousands to replace the whole system. I know these events have nothing to do with you but I am appealing on compassionate grounds for you to email me the missing bill (allowing the discount) which I will pay immediately. I am a loyal customer for three houses and I don't think this has ever happened before. I have promoted you to friends and refused cheaper offers from other companies because I want to deal with Australian companies like yours. Hoping you can see fit to help us out here. We are in our seventies so we can'y afford to lose any bonuses. Kind regards, Linda (and Richard) Walding 69 Summit Street Sheldon Qld 4157
Energy

Missing rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jane

Jane

January 11, 2024

Customer wants a new bill with the govt rebate deducted and an explanation for why the bill was estimated.
I have just had my new bill and there is not the Qld Govt Cost Of Living Rebate of -$137.50 on my bill. And also this bill was estimated and not read - why? There is clear access to my electricity meter box at the front of my property. Customer No: 6465925

COMPLAINTS RESOLVED THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Cost-effective plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melinda
Cost-effective plan

Melinda

May 1, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Cost-effective electricity plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Edward
Cost-effective electricity plan

Edward

April 30, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Power outage notification

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Meggy
Power outage notification

Meggy

February 14, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ruth

Ruth

February 2, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Believe bill was never delivered.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Linda and Richard
Believe bill was never delivered.

Linda and Richard

February 1, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Missing rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jane
Missing rebate

Jane

January 11, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Sharron

Sharron

January 11, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Hard to pay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Joseph
Hard to pay

Joseph

January 5, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Estimated bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Geoff
Estimated bill

Geoff

December 16, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Bill increase

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Noel
Bill increase

Noel

December 12, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

how to raise a complaint with

Red Energy

The best way to resolve an issue with 

Red Energy

Quick Solutions
Prepared by
Red Energy
WE SUGGEST

Whilst Australia’s energy network is fairly robust, things can occasionally go wrong. Whether it's a power outage or an error in billing, Ajust is here to streamline the complaint process and ensure a timely resolution.

Find out the best way to make a complaint to your electricity or gas provider. We cover the 3 big energy retailers (AGL, EnergyAustralia and Origin Energy), as well as smaller companies. We also share guidance about the big issues facing energy consumers – like rising bills, meter reads and estimates, rebates, poor customer service and delays.

How to complain to

Red Energy

Ajust’s platform is quick and easy to use. Our structured yet simple platform ensures that all necessary details reach your energy provider, making the resolution process simple for you. Here are some steps to consider before creating your complaint.

01
Describe the issue and how it affected you
Explain what went wrong, such as a blackout or billing issues like being overcharged. Help your energy provider understand the impact by sharing how the issue affected you.
02
Consider how you’d like your energy provider to resolve your complaint
Clearly communicate the action you expect your energy provider to take to resolve the issue, whether it involves restoring power or rectifying billing errors.
03
Gather any materials that support your complaint
Relevant documents that support your complaint can help speed up the resolution. A copy of your energy bills or a photo of your electricity meter can be useful depending on the nature or your complaint
04
Fair and Free
Use Ajust to raise a complaint directly with
Red Energy
Get started. Raise a complaint in 2 minutes. Fast and free
04
Fair and Free
Join our campaign to get
Red Energy
to listen
Help us by adding your complaint to our campaign. The more people we have, the harder it is for them to ignore us!
How to contact
Red Energy
Phone
131 806
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Post
PO Box 4136 East Richmond VIC 3121
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Online
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
In person
N/A
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Complaint Policy
www.redenergy.com.au/docs/Red-Energy-Dispute-Resolution-Policy.pdf
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.

Common issues related to

Red Energy

get heard, get a resolution

Resolving issues with Ajust

Ajust makes complaints easy for consumers and businesses. Our platform resolves complaints in three easy steps!

How Ajust works, user shares their story

Tell your story

You’ve experienced an issue with a business and you want a resolution. Ajust asks the right questions about what happened, so your story gets heard. It only takes a few minutes.

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

Submit your complaint

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you escalate your complaint to the ombudsman or switch to a new provider.

Get your resolution

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you explore other options for an outcome.

FAQs

You can also learn more about Ajust here.

Who can use Ajust?

Ajust can be used by any Australian consumer to resolve complaints with any Australian businesses.

How much does it cost?

Nothing! It's free for consumers to use Ajust. Consumers can upgrade to a paid version of our platform if they need to take more action or want to get faster results.

How does Ajust make money?

Consumers and businesses can pay Ajust for extra support to resolve complaints.

Is Ajust independent?

Ajust is an independent business that operates separately from the businesses listed on our website. Our priority is helping consumers resolve their complaints, because we believe that is good for consumers and good for businesses. Ajust is also separate from government, ombudsmen and regulators.

Is it better to complain through Ajust?

Much better! Ajust makes the process easy for you by collecting the right information, sending your complaint to the right place, following up with the business and much more. And it's free for consumers to get started.

Others are resolving complaints with Ajust

Get a resolution for your complaint

We take the effort out of making a complaint. It's fast, fair and free for consumers.

Ajust as on the phone