Verified
EnergyAustralia
partners with Ajust

EnergyAustralia
Complaints

The best way to resolve complaints with
EnergyAustralia

EnergyAustralia is one of the biggest retailers of gas and electricity in Australia. There were over 18,000 complaints made to EnergyAustralia in 2021-22, a slight increase on the year before (according to reports from the regulator). EnergyAustralia also had the longest average call wait time of the big 3 retailers. EnergyAustralia consistently resolves complaints from Ajust.

Get heard by
EnergyAustralia

Live
Join our campaign

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
EnergyAustralia

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
EnergyAustralia

Ajust is putting pressuring on
EnergyAustralia
to listen to its customers and give them fair outcomes.
It only takes 2 minutes to get started
Quick Solutions
Add Your Voice
Resolve Now
Powered by Ajust

COMPLAINTS SENT THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Wrong energy plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Daniel
Wrong energy plan

Daniel

May 8, 2024

Still receiving bills under old plan

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Incorrect estimated bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Bree-anna
Incorrect estimated bill

Bree-anna

May 4, 2024

Financially burdened

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

High bills

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Andrea
High bills

Andrea

April 29, 2024

Financial burden

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Expensive bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Swostika
Expensive bill

Swostika

April 25, 2024

Customer is worried and frustrated

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Power disconnection

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Graeme
Power disconnection

Graeme

April 15, 2024

Unable to move out and clean properly

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Cost of living rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mary
Cost of living rebate

Mary

March 13, 2024

Financial loss

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Pension concession deduction

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Craig
Pension concession deduction

Craig

March 4, 2024

Received incorrect bill

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Refund not received

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Adele
Refund not received

Adele

February 28, 2024

Continued billing

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

High electricity bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Leesa
High electricity bill

Leesa

February 23, 2024

Increase in account balance

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Customer service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
John
Customer service

John

February 13, 2024

Frustration, looking for another provider

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Consumers who are asking

EnergyAustralia

To Listen

Live Campaign
Do you manage complaints for
EnergyAustralia
?
Energy

Wrong energy plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Daniel

Daniel

May 8, 2024

Energyaustralia failed to switch my energy plan as agreed, resulting in overcharged bills. requesting assessment of prior bills under correct plan.
At the end of my fixed price contract I called EnergyAustralia and requested that I be put on a more efficient energy plan than the default plan. They agreed to do this but never actioned it. I call and complained that I had been put on the wrong energy plan. My complaint was closed but they never switched my energy plan. They are still sending me bills under the old more expensive plan and not the new plan I should have been switched to. I have emailed several time and have not had any response. I have had to change energy providers and have outstanding bills under the old plan. I would like my prior bills to be assessed under the energy plan I should have been on.
Energy

Incorrect estimated bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Bree-anna

Bree-anna

May 4, 2024

Customer seeks correction of bill and apology from energyaustralia for discrepancy in estimated vs actual bill, requesting financial relief.
I was given an estimated bill but then when i questioned the bill i was told is wasn’t an estimate. although looking at my newest bill there is no way my last bill would have been calculated at $1000 but they are still trying to make me pay it. this is not financially doable for me and as per their policy if the estimated bill is different to the bill afterwards they have to correct it but they won’t. i would like my bill to be corrected and/or taken away due to the trouble it has caused us
Energy

High bills

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Andrea

Andrea

April 29, 2024

Residential customer receiving high electricity bills, seeking resolution from energyaustralia. spa checked, plan changed to flexi, usage still high.
Hi, I am a residential customer and have been receiving extremely high electricity accounts. The last quarter was $2,556.82 and previous to that quarter $2,458.46. I live in a 3 bedroom townhouse, 2 people. I have a spa that runs every day but have had it checked and nothing out of the ordinary. Energy Australia have changed my plan to flexi which will assist but i can see from my monthly print out some days we use 25.72 kwh. Not sure where else to go accept bring it up with Tom Elliott on 3aw. I cannot keep paying these ridiculous charges
Energy

Expensive bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Swostika

Swostika

April 25, 2024

Customer received unexpectedly high bill from energyaustralia, believes meter may be faulty. requesting meter check but frustrated with lack of response.
I got so expensive bill that is $585 for 2 people in 3 months. I believe we didn’t use that much electricity and we don’t have solar as well. When I had another electricity provider I never get that much higher amount bill. I used to get around $280 in 3 months. I got higher amount last time as well from this energy australia and this time it is more higher. And I am so worried like how I got that much. I want to request people that If they can send someone from energy australia to check my meter again if there is any issues. I called energy australia to talk about my problem but they didn’t care. So I am so frustrated.
Energy

Power disconnection

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Graeme

Graeme

April 15, 2024

Customer's power was disconnected early by energyaustralia, causing inconvenience and potential extra costs. seeking reimbursement for daily rent charges.
My power was disconnected 3 days early. Energy Australia has admitted this was accidentally shut off too early. Now impossible to move out and do proper cleaning. I have been on the phone currently for 60 minutes with no resolution in sight. If I need to delay clean or moving out I will be charged daily rent. I will expect Energy Australia to pay these costs.
Energy

Cost of living rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mary

Mary

March 13, 2024

Customer seeking $1072 rebate from energyaustralia as entitled to cost of living rebate. requesting adjustments to accounts and threatening further action.
Acct No 2267 202 030 As a Queensland concession card holder I am entitled to a total Cost of Living Rebate totalling $1072. That is a rebate of $268 over the past two accounts, September 2023 & December 2023, the account I received this morning, March 2024, and the June 2024 account. Please make the all the adjustments to my March account as soon as possible and email the new account, as I will not be paying the current account until I have received my adjusted account for September 2023, December 2023 and March 2024. If I do not receive the correct adjusted account I will take this further. The Queensland Government are paying Energy Australia the above mentioned amounts and you are not deducting from my account. Thank you Mary Schuster
Energy

Pension concession deduction

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Craig

Craig

March 4, 2024

Gas account received without pension concession deduction, seeking discount and apology from energyaustralia.
Received gas account without pension concession deduction. Account number 9892458068 $164.12 Spoke to assistant 1st march, who advised new statement would be forwarded. Statement arrived 2nd march exactly same amount. Spoke to another assistant today with no outcome achieved, as I did not wish to repeat myself for another half hour or so. Surely the adjusted invoice can be forwarded without going through all the same questions again. Regards Craig Stevens
Energy

Refund not received

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Adele

Adele

February 28, 2024

Customer terminated energyaustralia account, seeking refund. received partial refund but continues to receive new bills despite account closure.
I've been with do do since 20/11/2024 for gas I terminated my account with energy Australia in early November they refunded some money I had over paid but they keep sending me new bills
Energy

High electricity bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Leesa

Leesa

February 23, 2024

Customer is unhappy with energyaustralia's smart meter upgrade suggestion as electricity bill continues to increase despite decreased household size and solar panel setup.
We’ve a client of energy Australia Client Number 5055130418 . For the past 12months I’ve engaged with Energy Australia our Retailer- And it was suggested to upgrade to a smart meter . Electrician to review our set up of - -30 solar panels -Tesla Battery / Tesla data scripts . Essential Energy - collected data over a month , confirming voltage from street is in order. For the past 2years our electricity account continues to increase . Our behaviours have not changed This time last year there were 4 people residing in house now only 2 people Why our export isn’t covering most of our bill.
Energy

Customer service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
John

John

February 13, 2024

Customer had a frustrating experience with energyaustralia customer service and is now looking for another provider.
I phoned Energy Australia this morning Tuesday 13th February 24 regarding setting up a direct debit using a credit card for my gas account 3866919731 to avoid paying the credit card fee, the operator was not helpful at all, went over the same things time & time again, asked me a question then speak over me, after 30 minutes I was so frustrated & finished the call, a few minutes later the same person phoned me back going over the same questions, it was such bad experience I am now looking for another provider, at 75 years old this person had NO IDEA how to relate to an elderly person

COMPLAINTS RESOLVED THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Expensive bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Swostika
Expensive bill

Swostika

April 25, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Power disconnection

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Graeme
Power disconnection

Graeme

April 15, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Cost of living rebate

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mary
Cost of living rebate

Mary

March 13, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Refund not received

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Adele
Refund not received

Adele

February 28, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Incorrect billing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Carolyn
Incorrect billing

Carolyn

January 4, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Terrible customer service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Maria
Terrible customer service

Maria

December 28, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Not receiving statements

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Greg
Not receiving statements

Greg

November 23, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Disorganized account management and fraudulent sales practices

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Zhicheng
Disorganized account management and fraudulent sales practices

Zhicheng

November 16, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Last 2 bills are double the amount from last year. I have consumed less.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kylie
Last 2 bills are double the amount from last year. I have consumed less.

Kylie

October 23, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Transfer delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Sharon
Transfer delay

Sharon

October 17, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

how to raise a complaint with

EnergyAustralia

The best way to resolve an issue with 

EnergyAustralia

Quick Solutions
Prepared by
EnergyAustralia
WE SUGGEST

Whilst Australia’s energy network is fairly robust, things can occasionally go wrong. Whether it's a power outage or an error in billing, Ajust is here to streamline the complaint process and ensure a timely resolution.

Find out the best way to make a complaint to your electricity or gas provider. We cover the 3 big energy retailers (AGL, EnergyAustralia and Origin Energy), as well as smaller companies. We also share guidance about the big issues facing energy consumers – like rising bills, meter reads and estimates, rebates, poor customer service and delays.

How to complain to

EnergyAustralia

Ajust’s platform is quick and easy to use. Our structured yet simple platform ensures that all necessary details reach your energy provider, making the resolution process simple for you. Here are some steps to consider before creating your complaint.

01
Describe the issue and how it affected you
Explain what went wrong, such as a blackout or billing issues like being overcharged. Help your energy provider understand the impact by sharing how the issue affected you.
02
Consider how you’d like your energy provider to resolve your complaint
Clearly communicate the action you expect your energy provider to take to resolve the issue, whether it involves restoring power or rectifying billing errors.
03
Gather any materials that support your complaint
Relevant documents that support your complaint can help speed up the resolution. A copy of your energy bills or a photo of your electricity meter can be useful depending on the nature or your complaint
04
Fair and Free
Use Ajust to raise a complaint directly with
EnergyAustralia
Get started. Raise a complaint in 2 minutes. Fast and free
04
Fair and Free
Join our campaign to get
EnergyAustralia
to listen
Help us by adding your complaint to our campaign. The more people we have, the harder it is for them to ignore us!
How to contact
EnergyAustralia
Phone
133 466
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Post
Locked Bag 14060, Melbourne City Mail Centre VIC 8001
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Online
www.energyaustralia.com.au/home/help-and-support/contact-us/complaints-and-feedback
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
In person
N/A
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Complaint Policy
www.energyaustralia.com.au/home/help-and-support/contact-us/complaints-and-feedback
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.

Common issues related to

EnergyAustralia

get heard, get a resolution

Resolving issues with Ajust

Ajust makes complaints easy for consumers and businesses. Our platform resolves complaints in three easy steps!

How Ajust works, user shares their story

Tell your story

You’ve experienced an issue with a business and you want a resolution. Ajust asks the right questions about what happened, so your story gets heard. It only takes a few minutes.

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

Submit your complaint

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you escalate your complaint to the ombudsman or switch to a new provider.

Get your resolution

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you explore other options for an outcome.

FAQs

You can also learn more about Ajust here.

Who can use Ajust?

Ajust can be used by any Australian consumer to resolve complaints with any Australian businesses.

How much does it cost?

Nothing! It's free for consumers to use Ajust. Consumers can upgrade to a paid version of our platform if they need to take more action or want to get faster results.

How does Ajust make money?

Consumers and businesses can pay Ajust for extra support to resolve complaints.

Is Ajust independent?

Ajust is an independent business that operates separately from the businesses listed on our website. Our priority is helping consumers resolve their complaints, because we believe that is good for consumers and good for businesses. Ajust is also separate from government, ombudsmen and regulators.

Is it better to complain through Ajust?

Much better! Ajust makes the process easy for you by collecting the right information, sending your complaint to the right place, following up with the business and much more. And it's free for consumers to get started.

Others are resolving complaints with Ajust

Get a resolution for your complaint

We take the effort out of making a complaint. It's fast, fair and free for consumers.

Ajust as on the phone