Verified
AGL
partners with Ajust

AGL
Complaints

The best way to resolve complaints with
AGL

AGL is one of Australia’s 3 largest electricity and gas retailers. The regulator reported almost 10,000 complaints made to AGL in 2021-22 and over 30% of AGL complaints were escalated to a local ombudsman, the highest rate of the major energy retailers. But AGL has a good record of resolving complaints made through Ajust.

Get heard by
AGL

Live
Join our campaign

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
AGL

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
AGL

Ajust is putting pressuring on
AGL
to listen to its customers and give them fair outcomes.
It only takes 2 minutes to get started
Quick Solutions
Add Your Voice
Resolve Now
Powered by Ajust

COMPLAINTS SENT THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Exorbitant final bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Nathan
Exorbitant final bill

Nathan

May 9, 2024

Distressing, lack of communication

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Incorrect billing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Xiaoliang
Incorrect billing

Xiaoliang

May 9, 2024

Paid extra 20000kwh in 7 years

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Cost-effective plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mary
Cost-effective plan

Mary

May 8, 2024

Seeking value

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Review of account

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Maksim
Review of account

Maksim

May 3, 2024

Cost of living on the rise

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Cost-effectiveness of current plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Michelle
Cost-effectiveness of current plan

Michelle

May 2, 2024

Concern about rising cost of living

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

High bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mohit
High bill

Mohit

April 24, 2024

Financial strain

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Best available deal

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jackson
Best available deal

Jackson

April 24, 2024

Financial concern due to rising cost of living

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Payment delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
John
Payment delay

John

April 11, 2024

Financial hardship

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Missed payment causing disconnection

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melita
Missed payment causing disconnection

Melita

April 10, 2024

Financial strain, risk of disconnection

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Energy

Power outage

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ashley
Power outage

Ashley

April 4, 2024

No power for 9.5 hours

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Consumers who are asking

AGL

To Listen

Live Campaign
Do you manage complaints for
AGL
?
Energy

Exorbitant final bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Nathan

Nathan

May 9, 2024

Customer seeks apology, fair resolution for exorbitant final bill issue, requests communication via email, urges amicable and transparent resolution.
I am writing to follow up on my previous complaint regarding the exorbitant final bill I received upon moving out of my studio apartment. Despite my initial attempt to address this issue through your customer service channels, I have yet to receive a satisfactory response or resolution. Furthermore, I am deeply disappointed to receive a threatening email from AGL Energy, indicating the possibility of selling my debt to a collection agency. This approach is both unprofessional and distressing, especially considering the lack of communication and resolution regarding my legitimate concerns. I reiterate my willingness to pay the average monthly bill amount for the duration of my tenancy with AGL Energy. However, I refuse to comply with the unreasonable total stated on the final bill, given the absence of transparency and explanation provided by your company. Additionally, I would like to emphasize that my preferred method of contact is via email at nathanvandervoort@hotmail.com. I expect all future correspondence regarding this matter to be conducted through this channel. I urge AGL Energy to reconsider its approach and prioritize resolving this issue amicably and transparently. I trust that as a reputable energy provider, you will address my concerns promptly and ensure fair treatment of your customers. Thank you for your attention to this matter.
Energy

Incorrect billing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Xiaoliang

Xiaoliang

May 9, 2024

Customer seeks refund + interest from agl for 7 years of overpayment due to neighbor's meter mix-up in unit 4.
1. AGL has put my Neighbor’s electricity meter number under my bill for 7 years. 2. I live alone in Unit 4 and realized I have paid to the wrong electricity meter after Strata opened the electricity box, paid at least extra 20000kwh in the past 7 years. 3. I need AGL refund all the extra money I have paid and give me interest on top of that.
Energy

Cost-effective plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mary

Mary

May 8, 2024

Customer seeks cost-effective energy plan review from agl after being with them for 4 years on gas only plan.
With the cost of living increasing, I'm keen to ensure I'm getting the most value out of my home energy service. I've been with AGL for approximately 4 years and I'm currently on a gas only plan. Could you please review my account and inform me if there is a more cost-effective plan available that suits my requirements?
Energy

Review of account

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Maksim

Maksim

May 3, 2024

Customer requesting review of current energy plan for more affordable options due to rising cost of living.
With the cost of living on the rise, I am eager to ensure that my current home energy plan, the Flexible Saver, is the most economical option available. Having been with AGL for approximately four years, I am requesting a review of my account to determine if there is a more affordable plan that suits my needs.
Energy

Cost-effectiveness of current plan

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Michelle

Michelle

May 2, 2024

Customer seeking review of current energy plan for affordability due to rising cost of living, requesting information on more cost-effective options.
As a long-standing AGL customer of over five years, I am reaching out to ensure that my current home energy plan, the Value Saver, is still the most cost-effective option given the rising cost of living. Could you please review my account and inform me if there is a more affordable plan available that suits my needs?
Energy

High bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Mohit

Mohit

April 24, 2024

Customer is disputing $12,000 electricity bill from agl, suspects issue with meter or readings, seeking resolution and more substantial discount.
Hi, I have been charged roughly $12,000 for my electricity bill, I did contacted my own electrician as well who climbed there is no way we can receive that much bill. I have been going back-and-forth with AGL and they giving me very little discount, this is something that I can’t afford. I am pretty sure there is something wrong with their meter or readings, did wanted to change the meter but they did not, I only had some visits.
Energy

Best available deal

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jackson

Jackson

April 24, 2024

Customer seeks review of gas service plan for potential cost savings due to rising living expenses.
I'm concerned I'm not on the best available deal for my gas service. With the rising cost of living, I want to make sure I'm on the best available plan for my needs. I would like AGL to review my account and let me know if there's a lower price plan available that fits my needs.
Energy

Payment delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
John

John

April 11, 2024

Customer seeks over a thousand dollars in overdue solar credits from agl to purchase medical equipment for wife's lymphodema.
Since October 2023 I have attempted numerous times to get my solar credits payed into my account. Each time I was passed up the line and then told the credits would be in my account within 5 working days. The last time I attempted to receive my credits I was told that because of the government energy payment that I could not recieve all of my credits to which I replied that it was not a problem and to leave the amount as a buffer. I was then told that they needed my bank account details even though they had payed into my account before. After nearly 6 months of waiting I joined Bill Hero and went to another provider on the 5th of April and AGL have at this stage contacted my or given me my credit back. My wife has Lymphodema and this year we have had to hire a machine to help contain it, the credit which is over a thousand dollars was earmarked to help purchase the machine outright. All we want is our money in our account.
Energy

Missed payment causing disconnection

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melita

Melita

April 10, 2024

Customer seeks apology from agl for disconnection of gas and electricity due to missed payment, causing financial hardship and police welfare check.
I have been paying 50 dollars each for gas & electricity every fortnight out of my pension for last 2years because of a missed isymentvin 2022 AGL decided to disconnected gas 2yrs later now want to disconnect electricity as I’m in arrears cannot afford to pay 1/2 of full bill Then later in day police came to my door for a welfare check
Energy

Power outage

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ashley

Ashley

April 4, 2024

Customer complaint about power outage from agl, seeking resolution. unresolved issue from 10.30 am to 8 pm, automated messages from endeavour energy.
There is no power in my house from 10.30 am. Till 8 pm the issue is unresolved and when you call Endeavour energy you only get automated messages.

COMPLAINTS RESOLVED THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Energy

Payment delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
John
Payment delay

John

April 11, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Disconnection not processed

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Siu sing
Disconnection not processed

Siu sing

March 8, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Billing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Robert
Billing

Robert

January 22, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Unauthorized change

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Nick
Unauthorized change

Nick

January 17, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Connection delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Leonie
Connection delay

Leonie

January 3, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Feed in tariffs not shown on bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Lois
Feed in tariffs not shown on bill

Lois

December 6, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

High bill

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Peter
High bill

Peter

November 23, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Ripping off customers

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Brett
Ripping off customers

Brett

November 16, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

issue with AGL

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Alan
issue with AGL

Alan

October 6, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Energy

Incorrectly debiting my account for $2,519.10 and then refunding only $172. This has been going on for the last 10 days. The money was to be deducted by my kids' school for their fees.

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Chandresh
Incorrectly debiting my account for $2,519.10 and then refunding only $172. This has been going on for the last 10 days. The money was to be deducted by my kids' school for their fees.

Chandresh

September 20, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

how to raise a complaint with

AGL

The best way to resolve an issue with 

AGL

Quick Solutions
Prepared by
AGL
WE SUGGEST

Whilst Australia’s energy network is fairly robust, things can occasionally go wrong. Whether it's a power outage or an error in billing, Ajust is here to streamline the complaint process and ensure a timely resolution.

Find out the best way to make a complaint to your electricity or gas provider. We cover the 3 big energy retailers (AGL, EnergyAustralia and Origin Energy), as well as smaller companies. We also share guidance about the big issues facing energy consumers – like rising bills, meter reads and estimates, rebates, poor customer service and delays.

How to complain to

AGL

Ajust’s platform is quick and easy to use. Our structured yet simple platform ensures that all necessary details reach your energy provider, making the resolution process simple for you. Here are some steps to consider before creating your complaint.

01
Describe the issue and how it affected you
Explain what went wrong, such as a blackout or billing issues like being overcharged. Help your energy provider understand the impact by sharing how the issue affected you.
02
Consider how you’d like your energy provider to resolve your complaint
Clearly communicate the action you expect your energy provider to take to resolve the issue, whether it involves restoring power or rectifying billing errors.
03
Gather any materials that support your complaint
Relevant documents that support your complaint can help speed up the resolution. A copy of your energy bills or a photo of your electricity meter can be useful depending on the nature or your complaint
04
Fair and Free
Use Ajust to raise a complaint directly with
AGL
Get started. Raise a complaint in 2 minutes. Fast and free
04
Fair and Free
Join our campaign to get
AGL
to listen
Help us by adding your complaint to our campaign. The more people we have, the harder it is for them to ignore us!
How to contact
AGL
Phone
1800 775 329
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Post
Locked Bag 14120 MCMC Melbourne VIC 8001
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Online
www.agl.com.au/contact-us/feedback
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
In person
N/A
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.
Complaint Policy
www.agl.com.au/help-support/contact-us/complaints
Details missing. Help fill in the gaps.

Common issues related to

AGL

get heard, get a resolution

Resolving issues with Ajust

Ajust makes complaints easy for consumers and businesses. Our platform resolves complaints in three easy steps!

How Ajust works, user shares their story

Tell your story

You’ve experienced an issue with a business and you want a resolution. Ajust asks the right questions about what happened, so your story gets heard. It only takes a few minutes.

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

Submit your complaint

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you escalate your complaint to the ombudsman or switch to a new provider.

Get your resolution

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you explore other options for an outcome.

FAQs

You can also learn more about Ajust here.

Who can use Ajust?

Ajust can be used by any Australian consumer to resolve complaints with any Australian businesses.

How much does it cost?

Nothing! It's free for consumers to use Ajust. Consumers can upgrade to a paid version of our platform if they need to take more action or want to get faster results.

How does Ajust make money?

Consumers and businesses can pay Ajust for extra support to resolve complaints.

Is Ajust independent?

Ajust is an independent business that operates separately from the businesses listed on our website. Our priority is helping consumers resolve their complaints, because we believe that is good for consumers and good for businesses. Ajust is also separate from government, ombudsmen and regulators.

Is it better to complain through Ajust?

Much better! Ajust makes the process easy for you by collecting the right information, sending your complaint to the right place, following up with the business and much more. And it's free for consumers to get started.

Others are resolving complaints with Ajust

Get a resolution for your complaint

We take the effort out of making a complaint. It's fast, fair and free for consumers.

Ajust as on the phone