Verified
Big W
partners with Ajust

Big W
Complaints

The best way to resolve complaints with
Big W

Big W is a popular Australian retail chain offering a wide range of products, including clothing, electronics, homeware, and groceries. Customers have occasionally expressed concerns about long wait times at checkout, limited stock availability, and occasional difficulties with returns and exchanges. However, Big W continues to be a go-to destination for affordable and diverse shopping options.

Get heard by
Big W

Live
Join our campaign

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Big W

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Big W

Ajust is putting pressuring on
Big W
to listen to its customers and give them fair outcomes.
It only takes 2 minutes to get started
Quick Solutions
Add Your Voice
Resolve Now
Powered by Ajust

COMPLAINTS SENT THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Retail

Payment mistake

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Amber
Payment mistake

Amber

May 11, 2024

Upset, needed money for kid's items

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Price discrepancy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Laurie
Price discrepancy

Laurie

April 29, 2024

Confusion over pricing

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Payment failure at store

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Lyn
Payment failure at store

Lyn

April 27, 2024

Unable to purchase desired goods

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

The quality of the Mambo backpack is poor. The stitching has already broken and have only used a small number of times

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jennifer
The quality of the Mambo backpack is poor. The stitching has already broken and have only used a small number of times

Jennifer

April 19, 2024

Unable to use the front zip now as items fall out.

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Charged for return

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Nathan
Charged for return

Nathan

April 16, 2024

Partial refund received

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Missing download code

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Innes
Missing download code

Innes

March 18, 2024

Daughter upset, unable to play

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Not working

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Beverley
Not working

Beverley

March 8, 2024

Unable to use

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Incorrect pricing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kerry
Incorrect pricing

Kerry

February 24, 2024

Customer feels ripped off

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

The date to have the toy sale christmas layby paid off by is not considerable to families especially when it is meant to be a christmas layby and it needs to be collected by or on 1st november

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Fay
The date to have the toy sale christmas layby paid off by is not considerable to families especially when it is meant to be a christmas layby and it needs to be collected by or on 1st november

Fay

October 25, 2023

With the date bought ahead of time, i will possibly have to cancel my laybys and my kids will miss out this christmas

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Retail

Employee behavior

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Sarah
Employee behavior

Sarah

Feeling disrespected and frustrated

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Consumers who are asking

Big W

To Listen

Live Campaign
Do you manage complaints for
Big W
?
Retail

Payment mistake

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Amber

Amber

May 11, 2024

Customer seeks apology and refund for accidental bank card purchase, upset with manager's response and lack of flexibility.
On the 10/05/24 I went to big w at Rosny to purchase a 100 dollar gift card using afterpay, but accidentally used my bank card when I was not supposed to, I was told to go to layby and see if they could fix it. I explained that I still wanted the gift card I just wanted my money back and then repurchase the gift card on afterpay and the manager had said they couldn’t do that. I needed that money to go towards stuff for my kid, I was very upset. And i don’t believe I should be the one to be penalised after making a simple mistake. The only way I could then make sure I had enough money was to then purchase an other gift card on afterpay and I made sure it was the right card this time. I have been coming to big w for years now and have never had so much trouble. I am certainly not a person to complain but I believe this was very unfair. As if things are hard enough already with the cost of living.
Retail

Price discrepancy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Laurie

Laurie

April 29, 2024

Customer seeking $100 refund from big w due to discrepancy in pricing on their account compared to website.
Have spent hours with their chat line to no avail Order No AUBW386129367 order placed on Friday 26th for $364 using Zip, logged into my Big W account today and the same item shows $264 difference of $100. After speaking to a live person, they inform me that the item is still $364 on the Big W site. Why is my Big W account showing this difference. If I'm correct would like a refund of the $100.
Retail

Payment failure at store

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Lyn

Lyn

April 27, 2024

Customer unable to use zip pay at big w due to staff lack of knowledge and multiple failures, leading to frustration and loss of confidence.
Tuesday 23 April I tried to purchase goods with Zip Pay at Big W Riverton WA it wouldn’t work. 4 staff were involved in my attempts to make my purchases only one knew what Zip Pay was and she stated we have a lot of problems with Zip Pay working. Attempts on five registers including two self serve failed and I was unable to make the purchases. I decided I would go to Canning Vale WA and ask first if Zip Pay was working before I made purchases. One staff member didn’t know what Zip Pay was, asked another staff member about it the response was we have a lot of problems with Zip Pay working, the only way to know if it’s working is to purchase two things first and try to use it. She also said there was a staff member David who knew all about Zip Pay and if it didn’t work he would come and see if he could sort it out. I purchased a vacuum cleaner successfully using Zip Pay so decided to purchase the other things I wanted. When I went to use Zip Pay to pay for the purchases it wouldn’t work. A different staff member came to assist me and when she knew it was failed Zip Pay she said there was a lot of problems with Zip Pay then tried doing the sale on another register which failed. I asked if David could come and assist the response was it’s not our end it’s Zip Pay and no point in getting him. I was unable to purchase the goods I wanted. On two other occasions at the stores I have mentioned I have been unable to use Zip Pay because it wouldn’t work and again Big W staff didn’t know what Zip Pay was or said they had a lot of problems with it. I am of the opinion Big W staff receive no training or given no knowledge of Zip Pay. Big W staff either report problems with Zip Pay and nothing is done about it or staff don’t bother to report problems. If Big W are going to provide a product for customers to purchase goods it should be useable. It is annoying, embarrassing and a waste of time putting goods in a trolley to purchase and not being able to purchase them and then staff having no knowledge of the product being used to purchase goods or saying we have a lot of problems with it. I am now no longer confident using Zip Pay in Big W stores.
Retail

The quality of the Mambo backpack is poor. The stitching has already broken and have only used a small number of times

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Jennifer

Jennifer

April 19, 2024

Complaint about the quality of a product purchased from big w.
Quality of product
Retail

Charged for return

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Nathan

Nathan

April 16, 2024

Customer seeks full refund and apology from big w for being wrongly charged and treated poorly when returning a game.
I returned a game a got charged for that game instead of giving me the money back. Then when I went back to the store to get this sorted I was getting treated like I stole the game and didn’t pay for it. So I got some of the money back but not all of it so not happy with how bugs treats there customers
Retail

Missing download code

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Innes

Innes

March 18, 2024

Customer purchased a download game without security seal or code from big w. manager and game maker unable to help. requesting new game with code.
Hi We bought a game for our daughter for her Nintendo switch that is a download game. When we went to open the game to down load it. It did not come with the security seal on it. It did not come with the code. We went back to Big W browns plains and sore the manager who said we can not help. We contacted the maker of the game and they said that it is your problem. The game was for our daughters birthday. So she was very upset that she could not use her new game. We would like a new game with the code so our daughter can play her game that she was so looking forward to. The game is Just Dance 2024.
Retail

Not working

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Beverley

Beverley

March 8, 2024

Customer received a faulty battery-operated can opener from big w as a christmas gift and seeks an exchange for a working one.
Dear Big W, I received a battery operated can opener for Christmas which has not worked at all. I have changed the batteries, looked at the connections and nothing happens. As i received it as a Christmas present i do not have a receipt, but looked online to buy a new one and saw The Big W one was exactley like mine. I just want to be able to exchange it for one that works. Thank you for your help in advance. It is a Handy Can-opener Regards Beverley Bembrick
Retail

Incorrect pricing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kerry

Kerry

February 24, 2024

Customer upset about items not scanning at correct price, no apology or resolution provided by manager, threatening to never shop at store again.
My granddaughter wanted an item in the toy section today at mt Hutton big w. This item was in a bin with other barbie doll items for $14.00 when I went to pay it wouldn’t scan so the manager came and said it’s not for sale there was lots of these items on sale. Why does big w put items out for sale and then say they are not for sale???????? No apologies. No other solutions to address this issue. Manager just walked away. This is not the first time I’ve had issues. Clothing on mark down scanning at full price what a joke you people are. Clearly ripping off the consumer and now selling off stock that you can’t buy. Really is this this company that hard up or do you just enjoy ripping off the customers will never shop there again. I’m sure consumers affairs will have a field day shopping in your stores
Retail

The date to have the toy sale christmas layby paid off by is not considerable to families especially when it is meant to be a christmas layby and it needs to be collected by or on 1st november

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Fay

Fay

October 25, 2023

I have a toy sale layby which over the past years has exactly been a chrismas layby, pay off over 6 months. Why has it this year changed especially with the cost of living and many people struggling and this may be a families only means to get gifts for their kids to move the finalisation date for toy sale laybys to be collected by or on the 1st november. This is almost 2 months before christmas.
I have a toy sale layby which over the past years has exactly been a chrismas layby, pay off over 6 months. Why has it this year changed especially with the cost of living and many people struggling and this may be a families only means to get gifts for their kids to move the finalisation date for toy sale laybys to be collected by or on the 1st november. This is almost 2 months before christmas.
Retail

Employee behavior

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Sarah

Sarah

Customer unhappy with disrespectful employee at big w, seeking apology and better customer service. friends have also experienced issues.
I’ve had a problem with an employee working at the mirrabooka store. I have went there multiple times the past couple of months and I’ve asked her help a couple of times finding a product.When I ask she gives me disrespectful responses, nasty looks, she sighs when I ask her to see if they have anymore left and multiple times when I asked for her help she said she would come back and never did.I love big W but customer service is really not good with employees like her.I hope that this issue is resolved, either the employees here need to be trained properly or fired.A lot of my friends have had customer problems with this girl too.

COMPLAINTS RESOLVED THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Retail

Price discrepancy

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Laurie
Price discrepancy

Laurie

April 29, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Retail

Payment failure at store

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Lyn
Payment failure at store

Lyn

April 27, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Retail

Missing download code

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Innes
Missing download code

Innes

March 18, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Retail

Not working

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Beverley
Not working

Beverley

March 8, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Retail

Incorrect pricing

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kerry
Incorrect pricing

Kerry

February 24, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Retail

The date to have the toy sale christmas layby paid off by is not considerable to families especially when it is meant to be a christmas layby and it needs to be collected by or on 1st november

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Fay
The date to have the toy sale christmas layby paid off by is not considerable to families especially when it is meant to be a christmas layby and it needs to be collected by or on 1st november

Fay

October 25, 2023

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

how to raise a complaint with

Big W

The best way to resolve an issue with 

Big W

Quick Solutions
Prepared by
Big W
WE SUGGEST

Retail is a large and dynamic industry with lots of moving parts. Despite their best efforts, sometimes things go wrong with retailers. Whether it's a faulty product, customer service issue or incorrect details online, Ajust is here to simplify the complaint process so that you can get heard.

When you have a difficult experience with a retailer, it can be difficult to understand where to send your concerns. Ajust makes it easy to create and sent your complaint to the business so that you your story is heard. Whether it's in-store retail or online, Ajust's intuitive platform is here to help.

How to complain to

Big W

Ajust helps hundreds of people each month by making it simple to share your story. By making sure your complaint includes the right information and gets sent to the right place, Ajust gives you the best chance of a resolution. Here are some things to consider before getting started.

01
Describe the issue and how it affected you
Help the retailer understand your issue by explaining what went wrong, such as a faulty product or a customer service issue. Give the retailer additional context by sharing how the issue affected you.
02
Consider how you’d like the retailer to resolve your complaint
Outline the action you are requesting the retailer to take to resolve your complaint, such as a replacement product or an apology for your negative experience.
03
Gather any materials that support your complaint
Share any files that might help the retailer understand the issue to give the best chance of a faster resolution. This could include a photo of a faulty product, receipt, or order confirmation.
04
Fair and Free
Use Ajust to raise a complaint directly with
Big W
Get started. Raise a complaint in 2 minutes. Fast and free
04
Fair and Free
Join our campaign to get
Big W
to listen
Help us by adding your complaint to our campaign. The more people we have, the harder it is for them to ignore us!
get heard, get a resolution

Resolving issues with Ajust

Ajust makes complaints easy for consumers and businesses. Our platform resolves complaints in three easy steps!

How Ajust works, user shares their story

Tell your story

You’ve experienced an issue with a business and you want a resolution. Ajust asks the right questions about what happened, so your story gets heard. It only takes a few minutes.

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

Submit your complaint

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you escalate your complaint to the ombudsman or switch to a new provider.

Get your resolution

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you explore other options for an outcome.

FAQs

You can also learn more about Ajust here.

Who can use Ajust?

Ajust can be used by any Australian consumer to resolve complaints with any Australian businesses.

How much does it cost?

Nothing! It's free for consumers to use Ajust. Consumers can upgrade to a paid version of our platform if they need to take more action or want to get faster results.

How does Ajust make money?

Consumers and businesses can pay Ajust for extra support to resolve complaints.

Is Ajust independent?

Ajust is an independent business that operates separately from the businesses listed on our website. Our priority is helping consumers resolve their complaints, because we believe that is good for consumers and good for businesses. Ajust is also separate from government, ombudsmen and regulators.

Is it better to complain through Ajust?

Much better! Ajust makes the process easy for you by collecting the right information, sending your complaint to the right place, following up with the business and much more. And it's free for consumers to get started.

Others are resolving complaints with Ajust

Get a resolution for your complaint

We take the effort out of making a complaint. It's fast, fair and free for consumers.

Ajust as on the phone