Verified
Air New Zealand
partners with Ajust

Air New Zealand
Complaints

The best way to resolve complaints with
Air New Zealand

Air New Zealand is a major airline based in New Zealand, offering domestic and international flights. It operates a fleet of modern aircraft and provides a range of services including in-flight entertainment, meals, and baggage handling. Customers may have complaints related to flight delays, cancellations, or lost luggage.

Get heard by
Air New Zealand

Live
Join our campaign

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Air New Zealand

Have a complaint? Click below to resolve your issue with
Air New Zealand

Ajust is putting pressuring on
Air New Zealand
to listen to its customers and give them fair outcomes.
It only takes 2 minutes to get started
Quick Solutions
Add Your Voice
Resolve Now
Powered by Ajust

COMPLAINTS SENT THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Airline

Name change on ticket

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Thi
Name change on ticket

Thi

May 12, 2024

Caused stress and inconvenience

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Bag damage report

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Rodney
Bag damage report

Rodney

April 1, 2024

Delayed resolution, frustration

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Flight cancelled

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
James
Flight cancelled

James

March 13, 2024

Extremely frustrating

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Flight cancellation

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Hwa Ping
Flight cancellation

Hwa Ping

March 13, 2024

Missed connecting flight

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Refund amount

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melvyn
Refund amount

Melvyn

March 11, 2024

Spent over 3 hours on the phone unsuccessfully

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Flight diversion

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
AMBARAM V.& KIRAN A.
Flight diversion

AMBARAM V.& KIRAN A.

February 28, 2024

Missed tour, extra expenses

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Inflight service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kathryn
Inflight service

Kathryn

February 27, 2024

Dehydrated, poor service

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Flight cancellation refund delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Aislinn
Flight cancellation refund delay

Aislinn

February 22, 2024

Customer has not received refund after 8 weeks

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Refund not received

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ramachandran
Refund not received

Ramachandran

February 13, 2024

Customer has not received refund

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Airline

Missed flight due to delay in verifying travel document

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Musa
Missed flight due to delay in verifying travel document

Musa

February 1, 2024

Had to pay for another flight

Outcome Sought

Apology

Compensation

Other

Consumers who are asking

Air New Zealand

To Listen

Live Campaign
Do you manage complaints for
Air New Zealand
?
Airline

Name change on ticket

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Thi

Thi

May 12, 2024

Customer seeks $1093.06 refund from air new zealand due to name change error causing seating issues and missing infant ticket.
Hi there, it’s Thi hien nguyen here. My airpoint number is 10598486. On the 05/03/24 I did make a booking for 4 people a mother and 1 child under 1 year old and 1 under 6 years old + 1 girl 12 years old. flight from Gisborne to Hanoi on the 22/04/24 at 6:15 am. I did it online booking all went well until a day before my flight then I just remembered that I haven’t connected mu airpoint so rang air nz to ask them to do it for me. And the staff was checking all my details and she found that my middle name and my first name was mixed up. So she told me I had to change the name otherwise I cannot flight the next day.unfortunately there was four of us but my two child there never was correct so I only need to change it for me and one other passenger. And the cost was $1093.06 That’s fine. I had to pay for my mistake but the lady at the call centre did it for me she did it wrong again. Even after I send her my passport for her to do it. So I have to ring back to see air nz to ask them to redo it for me without off my cost. And they said they did change my name on the ticket and link the original booking n my new booking together but they never did it. On the 22/4/24 when we went to the airport then they had to spend quite awhile on the computer to get the 4 tickets to us to flight to Auckland. Then when I went to international airport to get my boarding pass then same thing happened. But the thing is they didn’t explain to me what was happened but anyway I got the ticket n for of us didn’t have the seats that we could seat together. Just simply an infant and over five years old they need to seat by their mother. But anyway we did flight to Singapore all 4 of us and at the Singapore while we do check in we only can flight 3 of us with out of the infant. Just because Singapore airline could find the ticket for my infant baby. I was there all by my self with 3 kids. Then I had to run from the department to the other just to ask for help but they could not find my baby ticket. It took me 5 hours running n my child a went missing at the airport because his mom taking too long to find the tickets for his little brother. Until I have to ring back to air nz office to ask for it then they said that they did cancel the old ticket and he got a new ticket. Seriously, who can change the ticket with out of letting me know about it? How could you do it? Or if you do it why didn’t you let Singapore airlines know about it? I’m not happy at all. For all my time n stress I had been carrying on my trip not in writing this email to let you know that u have to do something to me otherwise I’ll get the lawyer involved. Kind regards. Hien
Airline

Bag damage report

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Rodney

Rodney

April 1, 2024

Customer seeking resolution and apology from air new zealand for delayed response and lack of action on damaged bag report by swissport.
Hi Air New Zealand, Complaint reference: CAS-137921-B3D5Q7. On the 21st of January I submitted a bag damage report for my flight from Auckland to Melbourne. Swissport the baggage provider hasn't responded and I want to have an outcome as soon as possible. I have waited 10 weeks and still nothing hasn't happened. I was advised this matter would be closed in 6 weeks and it has not. I want Swissport the baggage provider to investigate this baggage damaged report urgently otherwise I will be escalating this further. The reference number for my damaged bag report is MELNZ10860. Kind regards, Rodney Fleiszig
Airline

Flight cancelled

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
James

James

March 13, 2024

Flight cancelled, seeking refund and apology from air nz for lack of resolution and communication.
Air NZ flight cancelled, been on hold for far too long, its a joke.... when finally spoken to numerous Air NZ people who tell me will resolve and send email. No email received. Extremely frustrating. Seeking refund which I am due.
Airline

Flight cancellation

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Hwa Ping

Hwa Ping

March 13, 2024

Flight from chicago to auckland cancelled, lost domestic flight from cincinnati to chicago. seeking full trip cost coverage.
I was booked a flight from Chicago to Auckland on 4/10 and returned on 4/26 but the flight cancelled from Chicago to Auckland and returned. I lost my domestic flight from Cincinnati Ohio to Chicago and returned
Airline

Refund amount

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Melvyn

Melvyn

March 11, 2024

Customer seeking full refund and apology from air new zealand for incorrect refund amount after spending over 3 hours on phone.
I have not been refunded the correct amount for a fully refundable flight. I have spent over 3 hours on the phone trying to rectify this unsuccessfully. I have copies of original booking, incorrect refund and credit card statement.
Airline

Flight diversion

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
AMBARAM V.& KIRAN A.

AMBARAM V.& KIRAN A.

February 28, 2024

Complaint about diverted flight, missed tour, and unexpected expenses. seeking reimbursement and compensation from air new zealand.
OUR FLIGHT # AZ5562 FROM CHRISTCHURCH TO ROTORUA ON 18TH FEBRATY WAS DIVERTED BACK TO CHRISTCHURCH FROM AIR RESULTING IN OUR UNEXPECTED STAY IN CHRISTCHURCH RESULTING IN STAY AT IBIS HOTEL.MISSING OUR TOUR TO HOBOTIN RESULTING IN LOSING USD $ 176 FOR ME AMBARAM V.CHAUHAN & MY WIFE KIRAN A.CHAUHAN.ALSO WE ENDED UP SPENDING FOR DINNER AND BREAKFAST NZ DOLLARS 90 EACH.WE ARE ASKING FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THESE EXPENSES.WE SHOULD ALSO SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR INCONVIENCE BY OFFERING . COMPLIMENTARY VOUCHER FOR FUTURE FLIGHTS. HOPE TO RESOLVE ISSUES AMICABLY. MY ADDRESS IS :AMBARAM V.CHAUHAN & KIRAN A.CHAUHAN, 1155 GROUSE RUN ROAD,BETHEL PARK,PA 15102 USA 11
Airline

Inflight service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kathryn

Kathryn

February 27, 2024

Complaint about poor inflight service on air new zealand flight, seeking $500 compensation and apology.
Hello, I have finally found the time to email you regarding the appalling inflight service by the WAMOS air crew on the above flight. Our flight was changed from an Air New Zealand flight to WAMOS in October 2023, I believe. Air New Zealand state that where ever your destination, you can expect the same great, uniquely Kiwi experience onboard, blending hospitality with world-class service. My husband and I have never experienced such appalling inflight service. The air crew were inattentive, forgot several requests for drinks and didn’t service tea or coffee after the inflight meal. They seemed to be more interested in talking to each other, than serving passengers. I actually felt quite dehydrated through lack of water and had to help myself to the water because there was nobody around. We welcome Air New Zealand’s feedback regarding our complaint and look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards. Kathryn and Len Vasiljevs Flight NZ175 14:20hrs 10.2.24 from Auckland to Perth
Airline

Flight cancellation refund delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Aislinn

Aislinn

February 22, 2024

Flight cancellation led to booking issues, refund not received despite multiple follow-ups, lack of apology from air new zealand staff.
On 31 December 2023, my mother's AirNZ flight from Wellington - Auckland was cancelled due to weather related events. She had an international connection to South America that evening and so, in a panic, we booked her a fully refundable flight from Palmerston North instead, which was the only option that would get her to Auckland in time for her connection. Her travel agent was also working on her behalf to resolve the situation and, while we were on the road between Wellington and Palmerston North, we learnt that her travel agent had also secured her a seat on a flight from Palmerston North to Auckland. I therefore cancelled the fully refundable ticket and received an email from AirNZ that my debit card would be refunded within 15 working days. It has now been 8 weeks and I have still not received a refund. I called customer service after 15 business days and was baffled to be told nonchalantly by AirNZ staff that refunds take between 4-6 weeks. He didn't acknowledge the contradiction to the formal email confirmation I received previously and he was not apologetic in the slightest. After waiting 5 weeks for a refund, I lodged a formal comaint to AirNZ on 3 Feb 2024. I received an automated response to say the airline receives a high number of complaints and they were working through them as quickly as they could. I followed up on 11 Feb 2024 as I still had no response. Someone called Kirk wrote to me to say he was following up with the refunds team. It has now been 8 weeks and I have still not receieved a refund.
Airline

Refund not received

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Ramachandran

Ramachandran

February 13, 2024

Customer is complaining about not receiving a refund from air new zealand for a cancelled flight booked through e dreams.
I had done a booking for New Zealand through E Dreams flying on 17 Dec 2023 ( via Qantas Airways) and return via Air New Zealand of 02 Jan 24 . I was informed of cancellation of Qantas Flight on 17 Dec 23 . So I asked for entire flights with onward and return flights cancelation . I received the refund from Quanta Airways with in a week but Air New Zealand hasn't refunded my ticket till date . I have been approaching E Dreams for the past 4 months but always get a response that Air New Zealand hasn't refunded yet and that the amount will be refunded directly by the airlines . The cancelation from E Dreams was initiated on 26 Oct 23 and it is now 4 months still I haven't received the refund . Please assist in refund .
Airline

Missed flight due to delay in verifying travel document

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Musa

Musa

February 1, 2024

Customer missed their flight due to delays in verifying a relative's travel document. requesting refund and apology from air new zealand.
Hello Booking reference: GNLIRQ Flight number: JQ173 I missed our flight in 19 January 2024, due to the delay in verifying the Travel Document of our relative by Jetstar staff at Melbourne Airport. The flight happened earlier too. My family of 4 were holding Australian passport. So, we got the verification quickly. Then, we were asked by Jetstar staff to stay there and wait for my brother in law who had Australian Travel Document. They contacted immigration office to verify his document. So, this was the main cause of our delay to get to the boarding gate. Then we rushed to the check point which was terribly busy. We passed the checking process until about 10 minutes to 7 pm. As we got close to the boarding gate, the staff stopped us saying that you have missed the flight. They returned us to Jetstar officer who wanted to help us with some extra charges, but his manager came there and didn't let him to help. So, I had to pay the full amount of money for another flight in next morning. Please assess the situation carefully and refund the money we spent the flight with the details shared above. Looking forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Musa Zakizada

COMPLAINTS RESOLVED THROUGH AJUST

Live Campaign
Airline

Bag damage report

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Rodney
Bag damage report

Rodney

April 1, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Airline

Flight cancelled

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
James
Flight cancelled

James

March 13, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Airline

Inflight service

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Kathryn
Inflight service

Kathryn

February 27, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

Airline

Flight cancellation refund delay

I used Ajust to create a complaint. Fast, fair and free.
My complaint was closed by Ajust.
Aislinn
Flight cancellation refund delay

Aislinn

February 22, 2024

lightning bold icon

Resolved < 48 hrs

Check icon

Resolved < 1week

Resolved

how to raise a complaint with

Air New Zealand

The best way to resolve an issue with 

Air New Zealand

Quick Solutions
Prepared by
Air New Zealand
WE SUGGEST

Whilst we always hope that our travel will go without a hitch, that’s unfortunately not always the case. Whether it's a flight delay, baggage mishandling, or an issue with booking, Ajust is here to simplify the complaint process so that you can get a resolution.

We understand it can be difficult to resolve a complaint with an airline. Big airlines like Qantas don't make it easy for customers to raise complaints. Customers can face long call waiting times and inadequate responses. There has also been criticism about the Airline Customer Advocate, which is meant to help consumers to resolve airline complaints. We explain your options for resolving complaints with Qantas and other airlines.

How to complain to

Air New Zealand

Ajust’s platform will guide you through a simple process that ensures all the relevant information is sent to the right people at the airline so that they can resolve your complaint. Here are some steps to consider before getting started.

01
Describe the issue and how it affected you
Detail what went wrong, such as a flight delay or lost baggage. Be sure to help the airline understand the impact that the issue had on your travel plans.
02
Consider how you’d like the airline to resolve your complaint
Clearly explain the action you are requesting the airline to take to rectify the issue, whether it involves compensation, rebooking, or resolving baggage issues promptly.
03
Gather any materials that support your complaint
Adding files to your complaint can help to achieve a faster resolution. Some examples include booking confirmations, baggage claim receipts or any communication with the airline.
04
Fair and Free
Use Ajust to raise a complaint directly with
Air New Zealand
Get started. Raise a complaint in 2 minutes. Fast and free
04
Fair and Free
Join our campaign to get
Air New Zealand
to listen
Help us by adding your complaint to our campaign. The more people we have, the harder it is for them to ignore us!
get heard, get a resolution

Resolving issues with Ajust

Ajust makes complaints easy for consumers and businesses. Our platform resolves complaints in three easy steps!

How Ajust works, user shares their story

Tell your story

You’ve experienced an issue with a business and you want a resolution. Ajust asks the right questions about what happened, so your story gets heard. It only takes a few minutes.

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

Submit your complaint

Ajust uses your story to automatically create a complaint. We send your complaint with the right details, to the right place – so you get the right outcome.

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you escalate your complaint to the ombudsman or switch to a new provider.

Get your resolution

The business responds to your complaint to offer a resolution. If you’re not happy, Ajust helps you explore other options for an outcome.

FAQs

You can also learn more about Ajust here.

Who can use Ajust?

Ajust can be used by any Australian consumer to resolve complaints with any Australian businesses.

How much does it cost?

Nothing! It's free for consumers to use Ajust. Consumers can upgrade to a paid version of our platform if they need to take more action or want to get faster results.

How does Ajust make money?

Consumers and businesses can pay Ajust for extra support to resolve complaints.

Is Ajust independent?

Ajust is an independent business that operates separately from the businesses listed on our website. Our priority is helping consumers resolve their complaints, because we believe that is good for consumers and good for businesses. Ajust is also separate from government, ombudsmen and regulators.

Is it better to complain through Ajust?

Much better! Ajust makes the process easy for you by collecting the right information, sending your complaint to the right place, following up with the business and much more. And it's free for consumers to get started.

Others are resolving complaints with Ajust

Get a resolution for your complaint

We take the effort out of making a complaint. It's fast, fair and free for consumers.

Ajust as on the phone